Skip to toolbar

2019 NWCCC Championships Recap


2019 NWCCC Championships Recap

All photos courtesy of Joe Flannery (Portland State University). Thanks, Joe!

Weather (and Public Health) Bulletin

It was a wet, windy, cloudy, and sunny weekend of bike racing on the Palouse. As always, University of Idaho organized a great weekend of competition. Racers were treated to 30+ mph winds all day Saturday. A bonus, spring favorite blessed the road race: vigorous, sideways hail. Course anti-records were posted in the team time trial. Or perhaps this was the conference paying tribute to University of Idaho’s famed “Take-Your-Time Trial”? In any case, the crit went off with off without much notable weather, though there was some notable, inter-team chamois sharing. This was either a display of the strong bond between Northwest Collegiate teams or a public health concern—we’ll let you be the judge.

Our Esteemed Conference Director, Logan

Final Conference Standings

Men A Overall Podium

For the Men A, Jordan Chapman (University of Idaho) claimed the season overall with a podium finish in the road race. Christopher Clancy (Oregon State University) took the win in the criterium to secure second, and Justin Ziehnert (University of Oregon) followed to take third.

In the Men BDeclan Kelly (University of British Columbia) retained his overall lead to take the top spot. Clay Allred (University of Idaho) took second, and Nate Li (University of Washington) third.

And for the Men C, a podium finish in the criterium saw Johnny Esteban (Seattle University) on the top step with criterium winner Noah Libeskind (Whitman College) in second and Aiden McClinton (Western Washington University) in third.

Women A Overall Podium

In the Women A, Aileen Pannecoucke (University of Idaho) won both her races to the top the season standings with a 350-point lead. Gillian Bergmann (Oregon State University) bested Anna Johnson (Western Washington University) to claim second place.

For the Women B, Erika Francouer (Western Washington University) bested Fiona Majendie (University of British Columbia) for the overall victory. Rachel Thody (Western Washington University) held out for third.

Double victories in the Women C field helped May Constabel (University of British Columbia) to her season title, and Hannah Davis (University of Oregon) and Tenley Ong (University of Oregon) rounded out the podium in second and third. 

Women C Overall Podium

For the Pacific Northwest Women’s Series, NWCCC alum Margaux McBirney (Liquid Velo) claimed the leaders’s jersey generously provided by Castelli for the Women 1/2/3 category. Nicole Mohrbacher (Team Thrive p/b Kaiser Permanente) was awarded second, and Mckenna McKee (Grixsen) took third overall.

In the Women 4 category, Kristen Deibler (Liquid Velo) claimed first, with Carolyn Fealk (Team Thrive p/b Kaiser Permanente) in second followed by Rachel Wood (Team Thrive p/b Kaiser Permanente)

Charlotte Gamble (Liquid Velo) was the overall winner in the Women 5 field, followed by Kimberly Dowe (Team Kimberly)and Zoey Bailey (Corvallis Bicycle Collective). 

Pacific Northwest Women’s Series Overall 1/2/3 Podium

And finally, this season was notable in that our friendly neighbors to the north, University of British Columbia, swept the conference standings for the first time ever. We are very grateful that they have graciously agreed to share the secrets to their recruiting tactics, even though doing so might endanger their future hold on conference glory. Following in second was the University of Idaho and Western Washington University in third.

NWCCC Team Omnium Podium

Looking Forward

We would like to wish Gillian Bergmann, Christopher Clancy, Jordan Chapman, Keelan Ontiveros, and Justin Ziehnert the best of luck at Collegiate Road Nationals in Augusta, GA this weekend! Enjoy the other coast and those ITTs!

As always, we are extremely proud of our team captains, race directors, and each and every rider for making this conference go. And we couldn’t do it without the sponsors, parents, friends, and volunteers who sustain us! Thank you all for a great season, and best of luck to all of the teams with your recruiting efforts next fall!